Now Reading
Watch: Sun June’s “Karen O”

Watch: Sun June’s “Karen O”

Texas band Sun June released a new video for their track Karen O, inspired by Yeah yeah Yeah’s lead singer and dream girl Karen Orzolek.

In a statement, the band says “‘Karen O’ is one of the only songs we’ve written that takes place over the course of a single night, and we hope we captured what it feels like when you’re completely worn out but can’t bring yourself to go home and go to sleep. It’s about the kind of night you let heartache swallow you whole, and you find yourself heading straight toward the things you should be running away from.”

“The actual Karen O is a hero of ours of course, and in the song she spurs on a lonely night of reflection about what could be versus what can’t. It covers some of our favorite topics-love, performance, regret, and hereditary drinking problems-and explores how we sometimes choose to heighten grief rather than reduce it. It also features a voicemail mailbox, which is unfortunate.”

Directed by Laura Colwell and Stephen Salisbury and shot on a Texas Hill Country ranch, the group took advantage of an impending lightning storm that perfectly captured the intent of the track.

Sun June’s new album Somewhere is out in February 2021 via Run For Cover/Keeled Scales. Pre-order now.

01 “Bad With Time”
02 “Everything I Had”
03 “Singing”
04 “Bad Girl”
05 “Karen O”
06 “Everywhere”
07 “Once In A While”
08 “Finding Out”
09 “Seasons”
10 “Real Thing”
11 “Colors”

Somewhere is out 2/5 via Run For Cover/Keeled Scales. Pre-order it here.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll To Top